My Photo
Location: Idaho, United States

I'm a part time cartoonist. My work has been published in childrens magazines, comic books, newspapers, magazines and role playing games. I'm always available for commisions. Look around and maybe leave a snide remark or two.

Sunday, February 11, 2007

The Non-Metal Church - Oingo Boingo

OK, I'm deviating from the Metal theme this week because I watched an Oingo Boingo video and was totally inspired.
Here's the video:

Now here's this week's caricature. It's one of Danny Elfman, lead singer of Oingo Boingo and composer of the soundtracks below. I left one version black and white and added color to the other. Let me know what you think.

Pee-wee's Big Adventure (1985) – his first orchestral score
Beetlejuice (1988)
Batman (1989) – his first large-scale, full-blown action score. One of his signature scores
Edward Scissorhands (1990) – his personal favorite of his scores
Batman Returns (1992) – including the song Face To Face, co-written with Siouxsie and the Banshees
The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) - in which he also sang as the lead character's singing voice (Jack Skellington) as well as a supporting roles (Barrel, one of Oogie Boogie's three henchmen, and The Clown with the Tearaway Face).
Mars Attacks! (1996)
Sleepy Hollow (1999)
Planet of the Apes (2001)
Big Fish (2003)
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005) - in which he provided the voices for the Oompa-Loompas in the musical numbers
Corpse Bride (2005) - lends his voice acting talents again for Bonejangles.

In addition to his work with Tim Burton, Elfman has written scores for dozens of other films including:
Forbidden Zone (Richard Elfman, 1980)
Back to School, (Alan Metter, 1986)
Big Top Pee-wee (Randal Kleiser, 1988)
Midnight Run (Martin Brest, 1988)
Scrooged (Richard Donner, 1988)
Darkman (Sam Raimi, 1990)
Dick Tracy (Warren Beatty, 1990)
Nightbreed (Clive Barker, 1990)
Army of Darkness (Sam Raimi, 1993) (theme)
Sommersby (Jon Amiel, 1993)
Black Beauty (Caroline Thompson, 1994)
Dolores Claiborne (Taylor Hackford, 1995)
Dead Presidents (Hughes Brothers, 1995)
To Die For (Gus Van Sant, 1995)
The Frighteners (Peter Jackson, 1996)
Freeway (Matthew Bright, 1996)
Mission: Impossible (Brian De Palma, 1996)
Good Will Hunting (Gus Van Sant, 1997)
Men In Black (Barry Sonnenfeld, 1997)
A Simple Plan (Sam Raimi, 1998)
Proof of Life (Taylor Hackford, 1999)
Chicago (Rob Marshall, 2002) (The instrumental pieces "After Midnight" and "Roxie's Suite")
Spider-Man (Sam Raimi, 2002)
Red Dragon (Brett Ratner, 2002)
Hulk (Ang Lee, 2003)
Spider-Man 2 (Sam Raimi, 2004)
Charlotte's Web (Gary Winick, 2006)


Post a Comment

<< Home